Netflix reveals plans to stop account sharing

by Matthew Escosia
SEA Wave - Netflix
Spread the love

By: Bianca Velasquez

 

If you’re reading this and you’re sharing a Netflix account with a friend, distant relative or significant other, then it may be time to create a new account for yourself because Netflix is planning to roll out a new security feature that will prevent joint accounts.

The streaming giant is testing out this new feature in countries around the world for an unspecified period of time and here’s how it works: If the platform detects that an account is being accessed by someone who is not the paying owner, a security code will be sent to that owner via text or email. This additional authentication step will reveal a code that the individual who is trying to access the account will need to enter in order to successfully use the account. According to a Netflix spokesperson, “This test is designed to help ensure that people using Netflix accounts are authorized to do so.”

But fret not! This update will not completely restrict sharing of accounts because the account holder can still share the security code to the person trying to log in, although the extra step can be a bit of a challenge when you the account holder can’t check the code immediately.

What do you think about Netflix’s planned crackdown on account sharing? Share your thoughts with us in the comments section below!

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Skip to content