LOOK: Here is the list of the 49th Metro Manila Film Festival Winners 

by Gabrielle Marcelo
Firefly MMFF Gabi ng Parangal
Spread the love


Millions of moviegoers gathered in cinemas to watch movie entries for the 49th Metro Manila Film Festival (MMFF). The MMFF is an annual celebration of film and culture in the Philippines that showcases local filmmakers, actors, and film industry professionals.

To culminate its first re-opening since the pandemic, the MMFF had a “Gabi ng Parangal” (Awards Night) event where the best films and performances were awarded. SEA Wave presents a rundown of the winners of MMFF 2023.


MMFF 2023

Photo from Metro Manila Film Festival

Film Awards

Best Picture: Firefly

2nd Best Picture: Gomburza

3rd Best Picture: Mallari

4th Best Picture: When I Met You In Tokyo

Best Screenplay: Angeli Atienza for Firefly

Best Cinematography: Carlo Canlas Mendoza for Gomburza

Best Director: Pepe Diokno for Gomburza


MMFF Gabi ng Parangal

Photo from Metro Manila Film Festival

Acting Awards

Best Actor: Cedrick Juan for Gomburza

Best Actress: Vilma Santos for When I Met You In Tokyo

Best Supporting Actor: JC Santos for Mallari 

Best Supporting Actress: Miles Ocampo for Family Of Two

Best Child Performer: Euwann Mikaell for Firefly


MMFF 2023

Photo from Metro Manila Film Festival

Music and Score

Best Original Theme Song: Finggah Lickin from Becky and Badette

Best Musical Score: Von de Guzman for Mallari

Best Sound: Melvin Q. Rivera and Louie Boy Bauson for Gomburza



Other awards

Best Editing: Benjamin Tolentino for Kampon

Best Production Design: Ericson Navarro for Gomburza

Best Visual Effects: Gaspar Mangarin for Mallari

FPJ Memorial Award for Excellence: When I Met You In Tokyo

Gatpuno Antonio J. Villegas Cultural Award: Gomburza

Marichu Vera Perez Maceda Memorial Award: Mother Lily Yu Monteverde

Best Float: When I Met You In Tokyo

Gender Sensitivity Award: Becky and Badette


Firefly bagged the award for Best Picture along with awards for Best Screenplay and Best Child Performer for Euwann Mikaell’s performance. Meanwhile, Mallari won a total of four awards including third place for Best Picture, Best Visual Effects, Best Musical Score, and Best Supporting Actor for JC Santos’ performance. 

Among the film entries, Gomburza was the most awarded with 7 awards in total, including second place for Best Picture, the Gatpuno Antonio J. Villegas Cultural Award, Best Production Design, Best Sound, Best in Cinematography, Best Actor for Cedrick Juan’s performance and Best Director for Pepe Diokno.


Which film was your favorite among the entries? Share your thoughts in the comments section below.
For more news, current events, and Southeast Asian stories, visit seawavemag.com

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Skip to content